Above Nav Container

Utility Container

Search Trigger (Container)

Mobile Menu Trigger (container)

Off Canvas Navigation Container

Meet the Board

Ward Four

Dr. Jimmy Pope was elected to serve a ninth consecutive term in 2015 and holds the distinction of being the longest-serving member in the board's history. He is a retired surgeon, Carrollton High School alumnus and the father of two children who also are graduates of CHS. Dr. Pope served as the Sixth District director for the Georgia School Boards Association for six years and served as vice president of that organization in 2007 and president in 2009. He also served as chairman of the Carrollton Board of Education from 1995-2008 and from 2010-2014. He was once again chairman from 2016-2017. In 2018, he was named to the Carrollton High School Distinguished Alumni honor roll. His wife Carmen is a retired registered nurse at Tanner Medical Center.

Vice Chair/Ward Two

Katie Doyle Williams is serving her second consecutive term in office. A lifelong resident of Carrollton, Williams is an administrative assistant with a local law firm. She and her husband Brandon have a son and daughter, Reece and Mallory, who are students in the Carrollton City Schools System. Williams earned a bachelor’s degree in business administration from the University of West Georgia, and serves as a board member on UWG’s alumni association. She is a member of the Carrollton Middle School PTVO, is a Safe Routes to School representative, and also involved in the community as a Recreation cheerleader coach and is a member of Carrollton First United Methodist Church. She currently serves as board vice-chair.

Ward One

Greg Dothard is serving his third consecutive term on the board. The 1993 Carrollton High School graduate and star athlete continued his education at Northwestern Oklahoma A&M College and Georgia Military College on football scholarships. In 1999, he was inducted into the Trojan Hall of Fame. Dothard is employed by the Georgia Power Company and is involved in church and community activities. He and his wife, Mary, have three children: sons Deion and Desmond; and daughter Daija; all graduates of Carrollton High School. He served as board vice chair from 2010-2014 and elected treasurer 2016-2017.


David Godwin began his third term in January 2018 as an at-large, or citywide, representative and has served on the board for the past eight years. A successful loan officer, he has been with BankSouth Mortgage for five years. He and his wife, Andrea, have four children: Hali, Emily, Josie, and Jack, all either graduates or current students of the school system. Mr. Godwin is active in Carrollton First United Methodist Church and has been involved in many youth organizations and activities.

Chair/Ward Three

Dr. Jason Mount began his third consecutive term in January 2018 as the Ward Three representative on the school board. An emergency room physician at Tanner Medical Center, Dr. Mount and his wife, Heidi, have five children, all graduates or current students of Carrollton City Schools. He and his family moved to Carrollton in 2005 and since have been joined by his parents, his wife's parents and three of his siblings and their families. Dr. Mount also works throughout our region with Eagle Scouts and is working with youth at his church. He was elected chairman of the board in 2018.


Mrs. Melanie McLendon, the newest member of the board, was appointed in June 2018 to serve as an at-large, or citywide, representative to fill an unexpired term. An insurance agent, the 1987 graduate of Carrollton High School and Mercer University alum has a long history of community involvement, including serving on the Board of Directors of the Carrollton City Schools Education Foundation for almost two decades, the CHS School Governance Team, and the CHS Athletic Booster Club. She and her husband, Chuck, have three sons who also are products of Carrollton City Schools. Mitch graduated in 2016 and following are Miles, Class of 2020, and Cam, Class of 2022.